Healthy Gut is important!

I am reading the Womanly Art of Breastfeeding and just got my mind blown!

Under the section ‘Can my baby react to something mother eats’ it states that a baby can not be allergic to mothers milk itself. However, if the mother has a leaky gut the proteins from cows milk, eggs, or whatever else can penetrate the mothers gastrointestinal tract, get into the blood and find its way to the milk.

I have been learning more and more about leaky gut and really wish I would have had this knowledge before baby…heck before even planning baby so I could start healing my gut. Our chiropractor shared some awesome info about it before and the importance of the gut with a pregnant woman. The connection of the mother and baby in womb is so fascinating. Your gut flora sets baby up with their flora for the first few months!

I am seriously considering doing the GAPS diet to repair my gut. By time my gut heals it may be to late for our breastfeeding relationship but it will make me a healthier mommy. We have done GAPS with A off and on but we also feel it’s extremely important to heal her gut and teach her how to keep her gut in optimal health. This will keep her body and mind healthy and when she decides to have children she will have that advantage.

Mind is still blown this morning and I read this part of the book last night!

Leave a Reply

